



Association of Florida Colleges Faculty Commission Report to the Board of Directors January 30, 2013

The AFC Faculty Commission held its annual business meeting during the 2012 convention and elected the 2013 officers:

- o Chair: Heidi Marshall, Florida State College at Jacksonville
- o Chair-Elect: Margie Robertson, State College of Florida
- o Past-Chair: Jim Lansing, Broward College
- Vice-Chair: Monica Franklin, Florida State College at Jacksonville
- Secretary: Damion Hammock, Valencia College
- o Treasurer: Jeff Laborda, State College of Florida
- o Region I Rep: Gareth Euridge, Tallahassee Community College
- Region II Rep: Mary Dumbleton: Florida State College at Jacksonville
- o Region III Rep: Charlene Latimer: Daytona State College
- Region IV Rep: Judith Bodenweiser, State College of Florida
- Region V Rep: Xiao Wang, Broward College

Note: Please see attached AFC Faculty Commission table with corresponding contact information

• 2013 News & Updates from the AFC Faculty Commission:

- The Faculty Commission plans to join the Joint Spring Conference in which we will hold our annual semi-final Professor of the Year teaching demonstrations. As of 1/22, we are still waiting on a date & location in order to send the nomination information to all members statewide. The final 3 presenters will present at the annual convention, per usual.
- The Faculty Commission has completed its review and modifications of the Professor of the Year award documents. The rubrics, language, and focus were unanimously modified at the convention and in emails throughout the last few months. The new rubrics for the written materials and teaching demonstration are attached for the board's review.
- Goal #1 in 2013: The Faculty Commission will continue its partnership this year with McGraw-Hill, pending their continued sponsorship. If not, we will seek to find a new sponsor to support the Faculty Commission.
- Goal #2 in 2013: The Faculty Commission will update the Vivian M. Dellinger award documents and increase awareness regarding this award.
- Goal #3 in 2013: The Faculty Commission will update the AFC Faculty Commission webpage.
- Goal #4 in 2013: The Faculty Commission will seek to coordinate a professional development panel and/or workshop at both the Joint Spring Conference and annual Convention this year.
- Goal #5 in 2013: The Faculty Commission will seek to create an AFC-sponsored "Faculty Commission" Facebook page to highlight our events, connect faculty statewide, post announcements, and much more.

AFC Faculty Commission 2013 Officers

Position	Name/Email	Campus	Phone/FAX
Chair	Heidi Marshall, Ph.D. Professor of English Education heidi.marshall@fscj.edu	Florida State College at Jacksonville, South Campus 11901 Beach Boulevard Jacksonville, FL 32246	PH: (904) 646-2335
Chair-Elect	Dr. Margie Robertson PH: (954)201-2296 Fax: (954) 201-2387 robertm@scf.edu	State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota 5840 26 th Street West Bradenton, FL 34207	PH: (941) 752-5372 FAX: (941) 727-6216
Past Chair	James (Jim) Lansing Senior Professor, Fine Arts <u>jlansing@broward.edu</u>	Broward College North Campus 1000 Coconut Creek Blvd. Coconut Creek, FL. 33066	PH: (954) 201-2296 Fax: (954) 201-2387
Vice-Chair	Dr. Monica Franklin Associate Professor of Dental Hygiene monica.franklin@fscj.edu	Florida State College at Jacksonville, North Campus 4501 Capper Road Rm. A-314D Jacksonville, FL 32218	PH: (904) 766-6766
Secretary	Damion Hammock dhammock@valenciacollege.edu	Valencia College 850 West Morse Blvd. Winter Park, FL 32789	PH: (407) 582-6917
Treasurer	Jeff Laborda Assistant Professor of Natural Sciences labordj@scf.edu	State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota	PH: (941) 752-5339
Region I Representative	Gareth Euridge, Ph.D. Associate Professor Communication/Humanities Division Tallahassee Community College euridgeg@tcc.fl.edu	Tallahassee Community College	
Region II Representative	Mary Dumbleton Librarian mary.dumbleton@fscj.edu	Florida State College at Jacksonville, North Campus 4501 Capper Road Jacksonville, FL 32218	PH: (904) 766-6715
Region III Representative	Charlene Latimer Senior Professor/Chair of School of Student Life Skills latimec@daytonastate.edu	Daytona State College 1200 West International Speedway Blvd. Daytona Beach, FL 32114	PH: (386) 506-3142
Region IV Representative	Judith Bodenweiser bodenwj@scf.edu	State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota Lakewood Ranch Campus	PH: (941) 351-1549
Region V Representative	Xiao Wang, Ph.D. Professor of English xwang@broward.edu	Broward College Central Campus	PH: (954) 201-6522 Fax: (954) 201-6515