The Florida College System **Policy & Advocacy Committee** Wednesday, November 2, 2016 **Buena Vista Palace** Lake Buena Vista, Florida

MINUTES

Welcome and Call to Order

Dr. Tom LoBasso, Policy and Advocacy Committee Chair, called the meeting of the Policy and Advocacy Committee to order at approximately 8:35 a.m. on Wednesday, November 2, 2016 at the Buena Vista Palace in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

The following members of the Policy and Advocacy Committee were present:

| Mr. John Grosskopf |
|----------------------|
| Ms. Ava Parker |
| Dr. Tim Beard |
| Dr. Ed Meadows |
| Dr. Eileen Holden |
| Dr. Ann McGee |
| Dr. Thomas Leitzel |
| Dr. Carol Probstfeld |
| Dr. Jim Murdaugh |
| |
| |

Also present were:

Ms. Victoria Hernandez

| Ms. Madeline Pumariega | Ms. Judy Green |
|------------------------|---------------------|
| Dr. Chris Mullin | Dr. Karinda Barrett |
| Ms. Wendy Sikora | |

| Mr. Michael Brawer | Mr. David Marin |
|----------------------|---------------------|
| Mr. Greg Haile | Ms. Rachael Ondrus |
| Mr. Robert Batsel | Mr. Steve Schroeder |
| Mr. Matthew Holliday | Mr. Jack Hall |
| Mr. Eric Johnson | Mr. Liam McClay |
| Mr. Andy Treadwell | Mr. Scott Balog |

| Ms. Juanita Scott | Mr. Don Payton |
|---------------------|--------------------|
| Ms. Karen Moore | Mr. E.H. Levering |
| Mr. Patrick Rinard | Mr. Andrew Barnes |
| Ms. Kelly Warren | Mr. George Sanders |
| Mr. Chauncey Fagler | Ms. Cindy Hewitt |
| Dr. Judy Bilsky | Mr. Ken Ross |
| Mr. Chris Hansen | Dr. Robert Flores |

| Mr. Peter Elliott | Dr. Robert Van Der Velde |
|----------------------|--------------------------|
| Ms. Sheryl Vittitoe | Dr. Lenore Rodicio |
| Dr. Carrie Henderson | Mr. Jack Parker |
| Mr. Craig Johnson | Mr. Mike Matulia |

Ms. Abby Whiddon

Recorder: Tina Ingramm

1.0 Approval of Minutes

1.1 Approval, Policy & Advocacy Meeting Minutes, September 30, 2016

Action: Upon a motion by Dr. Eileen Holden and a second by Mr. John Grosskopf, the minutes of the September 30, 2016 meeting of Policy & Advocacy Committee were approved without objection.

2.0 Approval, 2017 Legislative Priorities

Dr. Tom LoBasso referred to the handout entitled <u>The Florida College System Council of Presidents</u>. He reported the 2017 total legislative budget request is \$100 million. The legislative budget request has \$40 million in performance funding and \$60 million that will go through the funding formula.

Dr. LoBasso added the request supports the Department of Education's PECO request of \$100 million.

Action: Upon a motion by Dr. Tim Beard and a second by Dr. Tom Leitzel, the 2017 legislative priorities were approved without objection.

Ms. Ava Parker asked how the Council of Presidents legislative budget request aligns with the Chancellor's budget request.

Chancellor Pumariega reported the unfunded waivers issue could be problematic. She encouraged the presidents to develop a strategy when discussing the issue with delegation. Dr. LoBasso stated the presidents will use the Chancellor's advice to craft their message.

Ms. Parker also asked if the colleges will be able to request funding for special projects. Dr. LoBasso stated the colleges can still ask for special projects to be funded. The request addresses those issues of interest to the Governor.

Mr. Chris Hansen reported Senator Jack Latvala will be the Senate Appropriations Chair. Senator Joe Negron will be the Senate President.

Dr. Ken Atwater asked if the presidents should expect \$1 billion budget cut. Mr. Hansen stated that it could be more than \$1 billion cut from the budget.

Ms. Victoria Hernandez reported the lobbyists are working with Moore Communication Group on the legislative message.

Dr. Tom LoBasso adjourned the Policy and Advocacy meeting at 9:00 a.m. without objection.