# The Florida College System Policy & Advocacy Committee Friday, January 13, 2017 TCC Capitol Center Tallahassee, Florida

#### **MINUTES**

#### Welcome and Call to Order

Dr. Tom LoBasso, Policy and Advocacy Committee Chair, called the meeting of the Policy and Advocacy Committee to order at approximately 8:35 a.m. on Friday, January 13, 2017 at TCC Capitol Center in Tallahassee, Florida.

The following members of the Policy and Advocacy Committee were present:

Mr. David Armstrong Mr. John Grosskopf Dr. Devin Stephenson Dr. Sarah Clemmons Ms. Ava Parker Dr. Tom LoBasso Dr. Jim Richey Dr. Tim Beard Dr. Jeff Allbritten Dr. Ed Meadows Dr. Jonathan Gueverra Dr. Eileen Holden Dr. Cynthia Bioteau Dr. Jackson Sasser Dr. John Holdnak Dr. Thomas Leitzel Dr. Ken Atwater Dr. Carol Probstfeld Dr. Ed Massey Dr. Jim Murdaugh Dr. Stanley Sidor

Also present were:

Mr. Eric Godin

Ms. Madeline Pumariega
Ms. Madeline Pumariega
Ms. Kathyrine Scheuch
Ms. Wendy Sikora
Ms. Judy Green
Ms. Cora Merritt
Dr. Karinda Barrett
Ms. Stephanie Leland
Ms. Lisa Cook
Mr. Alexander Jordan
Mr. Rod Duckworth
Ms. Angela Long
Mr. Scott Kittel

Mr. Michael Brawer
Mr. Brian Babb
Mr. Steve Schroeder
Mr. Brian Babb
Mr. Matthew Holliday
Mr. Jack Hall

Mr. Andy Treadwell Mr. Liam McClay
Ms. Victoria Hernandez Mr. Brian Thomas
Ms. Rachael Ondrus Mr. Scott Balog

Dr. Robert Flores Mr. Andrew Barnes
Dr. Kathleen Plinske Ms. Allyce Heflin
Mr. Joe Mazur Mr. Don Payton

Ms. Georgia McKeown Mr. E.H. Levering Mr. Patrick Rinard Mr. Tom Furlong Ms. Kelly Warren Mr. Lloyd Dunkelberger Dr. Judy Bilsky Ms. Sheryl Vittitoe Mr. Chris Hansen Mr. Randy Nicklaus Mr. Peter Elliott Mr. Bob Arnold Mr. Craig Johnson Ms. Billie Morgan Ms. Nanette Schimpf Dr. Joseph Sarnovsky

Ms. Loretta Costin

Recorder: Tina Ingramm

## 1.0 Approval of Minutes

# 1.1 Approval, Policy & Advocacy Meeting Minutes, November 2, 2016

**Action:** Upon a motion by Dr. Cynthia Bioteau and a second by Mr. John Grosskopf, the minutes of the November 2, 2016 meeting of Policy & Advocacy Committee were approved without objection.

## 2.0 Approval, 2017 Legislative Priorities

Ms. Sandy Cesaretti Ray reported the lobbyists are busy analyzing bills that impact the Florida College System. She added two key components of the Senate's Excellence in Higher Education Agenda for the 2017 Legislative Session have been filed by Senator Galvano.

Mr. Chris Hansen reported COP Leadership will be meeting with Senator Galvano to discuss governance, college name changes, and the capping of some 4-year programs.

Dr. Tom LoBasso adjourned the Policy and Advocacy meeting at 8:45 a.m. without objection.